Transition to full time trader quitting school and work

Discussion in 'Trading' started by apo99, Nov 13, 2016.

1. apo99

apo99

Hey guys

First post, so here goes!

I just want to introduce myself to everyone beforehand. I am a 25 year old finance student

For the last 5 years I have been consistently trading small cap stocks between (0.25-3$) I have had only 3 losing months out of the past 60 months and average around 42-57% a year. My system also allowed me to trade while in class and at work and also allowed me to monitor my positions from my cell phone and PC at work I only work about 20-25hrs a week part time and I am allowed to trade at work.

I started trading with about 7-8k in 2011 and now I’m at 200k with some money I added as well. I am able to net close to 100k a year trading and another 25-30k working part time.

My biggest fear is that one day the market or the way these small cap stocks are priced will dramatically change and I won’t be able trade the way I do and will never be able to stay consistently profitable. I have recently stopped going to school and have switched to working only part time so I can focus on trading. How have you guys gotten over the fear of losing your edge or not being able to trade profitably. I don’t want to be a 35yrld trader who loses his edge or blows out and then becomes unemployable or has no other skills.

I also don’t use a technical system, just price action and volume and reading the bid/ask. I feel like my small cap system is more of an art form than anything else. If you approach trading with a purely mechanical system I think you will get cut down after some time. My dream is to become a full time trader in the next 3-4 years and would greatly appreciate if you guys can tell me how you transitioned into full time traders and what were some of the challenges you guys faced?

Cheers

2. Handle123

Handle123