Transition from Prop to Hedge fund

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by Copernicus, Jan 17, 2004.

1. interested in hearing from former daytraders who made the transition to the hedge fund world

anyone out there can comment on this process?

2. 50_luma

50_luma

I was a prop trader for 3 years, now trading under the umbrella of a hedge fund. The main issue I faced was the scalability of my trading system. Due to the liquidity issues, the access to large capital wasn't that beneficial to me. The 90 % of profits I can get trading prop. is higher than the 20% (which is an acceptable payout to a hedge fund trader) even if I had access to 100 times more capital than I had to put up as a prop trader. But if you have a working scalable strategy and are looking to move from a prop firm to a hedge fund than let me know, and I'll recommend a hedge fund that might be interested.

Right now I'm doing my old prop. daytrading, getting about the same payout and paying same commissions to the hedge fund that my old prop. firm is offering. I'm working on new strategies, but even if they don't work out, I'd still pay a little extra in commissions and a small % of profits to be working in the environment that a successful hedge fund can offer.

My situation is not common for a "regular" hedge fund, most of who, if I understand right, won't even look at your resume if they see you mention "worldco", or the other daytrading shops.

Another way to get into the hedge fund world would be to start your own. There are several traders on ET who have done that, and this subject has been discussed numerous times in the past. If you do a search you might find the threads, or they might want to share their experience here as well.

3. GGSAE

GGSAE

What exactly is a hedge fund?