Transition from equities to futures

Discussion in 'Financial Futures' started by B1010, Nov 19, 2003.

1. B1010

B1010

I have been trading equities for about 4 years and I think its time to move on to something else. I'm thinking about getting into bond or other types of futures trading. Can anyone give any advise on how to make the transition as easily possible. Or a company that will make an effort to teach new futures traders.

2. Trading T-Bonds makes an incredible amount of sense.

You can either scalp them and use the S&P futures to "key" off of most of the time, or you can trade them technically because they trend so well.

Find a broker that is very competitive with commissions and offers a good trading platform. The rest will be up to you!

:)

3. I concur. Same thing for ZN. If you want a really "easy" transition you might want to try my way: From trading equities, I tried to switch to ES and NQ, and after a couple of weeks of losses I tried ZB and ZN. Suddenly I was a profitable futures trader! I still don't know if it was the contrast to the horrors of ES and NQ, but the electronic bond and 10 year note futures have always seemed extremely benign to me.

4. The T-Bonds are one of the greatest TRENDING products out there! This is why one might find a transition to ZN and ZB much easier than going into ES, in my opinion.

5. I have had the opposite experience

been trading better in NQ / ES / YM

and even YG ( mini gold ) and EUR ( euro FX )

than ZB / ZN

I am trying to really be more diciplined in my fixed income

trading so I can fix my P+L :p

6. Hello All, what are your opinions about trading forex currency pairs rather than futures ?