Transition from Beginner to Pro Trader. How?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by ePandit, Oct 27, 2006.

1. ePandit

ePandit

I’m a fairly active trader. However, I still reckon myself a beginner who's spent a lot of dough on worthless systems, read a lot of books but who repeatedly experiences losses and hasn't managed to develop any good trading approach or system. Naturally, I want my trading to be more systematic/profitable than what it is now. Obviously, if this continues I’ll soon have to devote most of my time to “real” office work.

Thinking about how to achieve stable & positive results and get through the beginner’s stage faster, I think maybe it's a good idea to give it a rest for a while and try to come up with new ideas, read more books, paper trade? Or maybe I should join a prop firm where I’m not alone plus I could compare my results with those of others. What do you think a newbie should do to trade like a pro?

2. CTT

CTT

I think a question you should ask is, where are you loosing money?
    Don't be in a hurry to get through the 'beginner' stage faster than you are able to, determine what trades make you loose money, and try to limit the number of times that happens. Stop trying to make money quickly and work on not loosing.
    Taking a step back may be useful for you and just watch the markets, paper trade, etc.

I work with a prop firm and have been told that don't expect to be profitable for at least a year, there is a lot to learn, not only about the markets, but yourself.

3. dac8555

dac8555

to be a pro...go to work for an institution. Yo will learn much more than being on your own.

4. kiwi777

kiwi777

Some guys believe that there’re no beginners and pro. Only ample, cognizant and boilerplate traders.