Trailing Stops in TS 2000i

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by Ryon, Oct 8, 2002.

1. Ryon

Ryon Guest

okay,
    i'm relatively new to strategy testing in TS 2000i so there may be an obvious answer to my question.... here is the deal: i've added a percent based trailing stop to my entries (didn't code it myself - it was included with the software). The trailing stop works great on historical data but when i run it live (through esignal) the trailing stop triggers few seconds after the entry at around break even...

So for the day my results are always BE till about 5 minutes after the market closes when the trailing stop adjusts itself to where it should have been in the first place showing me a nice profit...

So i'm not sure what i'm missing here... Like i said, i'm relatively new to this and would appreciate any help.

thanks a lot.

2. Group,
    Correct me if I’m wrong, but TradeStation 2000 is the same platform and has the same features as Tradestation 6 except that it has no real time access broker.

Also I understand TS 2000 is what they use outside of America, and I’m located in Singapore.

Can you enlighten me on the TS 2000, and where on your web site (I may have to find it in Singapore) is it mentioned.

Lastly is the easy language coding exactly the same?

Jeff

3. Kymar

Kymar

There are several reasons why the built-in trailing stops (and other signals, too, for that matter) can work much differently on historical data than on "live" data - one typical reason having to do with backtesting resolution and bouncing ticks. IF (big if) you have clean, accurate tick-level historical data, you should first try running whatever testing you've done at tick-level resolutions. If you haven't been doing so, then you might be surprised at the differences in results: I've seen many great-looking systems turn into crap when judged in this way.