Tradestation

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by cokes, Jul 15, 2007.

1. cokes

cokes

A quick history of me. I traded futures in the exciting time of 2000-2002. When things dried up my edge as a discretionary trader also dried up. Since 2002 I have had a corporate job. Recently I have been given the opportunity to work from home. I jumped at the chance because I always wanted to get back into trading, but thought giving up current income was not smart.

This is my dilemma. I know that going back to trading as a discretionary trader is not an option. I do not feel confident that I would be able to find a respectable edge that I will not emotionally sabatage. I like the idea of building trading systems using Tradestation. I picked Tradestation because I have no experience programming and some people say it is the best automated trading language for non-programmers. Also it is FREE with 20 trades! I am only going to put 5k into account so interest on deposit would not be an issue for me.

Any advice would be appreciated,

Cokes

2. cokes

cokes

Does anyone who uses Tradestation have any comments.

Could a trader with no programming experience learn easy language?

Is the automated order entry good? Is it reliable?

Does the system go down a lot?

Does the system get delayed during busy times?

Thank you,

Cokes

3. If you want tradestation for creation and testing strategies,
    it's excellent choice, for position, overnight, swing trading.

If doing many intraday excution is what you looking for, there are
    other better option available like IB, x-trader,...

4. developing viable automated systems can be extremely time intensive (assuming success is even achievable). do you think you will be ok w/ the commitment to tradestation's monthly fees while you work?
    if so.. then go for it. it's powerful software imo. but allow yourself the time to adequately develop, backtest, and forward test the systems.
    bb

5. cokes

cokes