tradestation

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by fatman, Apr 27, 2004.

1. fatman

fatman

i would like to start learning about trading systems through tradestation, but i have no experience with it.

Can i get a free tial? how much goes it cost etc. how hard is it to start to set a simple system up?

thanks for any input.

2. Bob111

Bob111

3. A simple MA crossover system would take a few seconds to code. Here's an example:

if average(close,20) crosses above average(close,40) then buy next bar at open;
    if average(close,20) crosses below average(close,40) then sell short next bar at open;

That's all it takes to make a MA crossover. Wealthlab is much more difficult to code a simple task like this in.

Tradestation doesn't give trials and it is quite costly if you use the current version ($200 per month plus exchange fees if you're not a brokerage client).

4. dchang0

dchang0

I agree with hanseng1--Tradestation's EasyLanguage is very easy to get started in. Wealth-Lab is more for programmer-traders. If you can program in any intermediate full-featured computer language, you should definitely try Wealth-Lab, but if you are new to programming, start with Tradestation, Metastock or Amibroker (among others). After you have enough programming skills, you can go as complex/powerful as you want, including Wealth-Lab, Esignal, QuantStudio .NET, and on to homegrown systems you write yourself.