Tradestation Users - Newbie Question

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by smili, Dec 20, 2010.

1. smili

smili

Hi, I'm interested in beginning to learn automated trading and it seems like Tradestation is a painfree/popular way to go. I'll be looking to trade equities.

My concern as I look through fees is that I am just starting out w/ automated trading and currently don't have systems to trade, and based on reading these threads I'm certain it'll take me quite a while to work out/test / build systems that are profitable and worth running. (I have full time job so this will be an after-hours pursuit for me). If I read correctly it'll cost me $99.95 per month for the Tradestation Platform.

I've tried to get to Tradestation forums but they seem blocked to outsiders, but if there are users here I'd appreciate direction.

- Is the $99.95 a month + feeds just the cost of education while I'm getting my process up and running? Or are there better ways to backtest several ideas to get something closer to functional before starting w/ monthly fees?
    - I do find the backtesting important as I am unable to test strategies in real time due to my job. The ultimate automation of Tradestation is very appealing in this regard for when I want to turn a program on in small scale in real time.
    - I'm not necessarily looking to build day/trade programs initially - slower moving swing trade programs would be fine if they work for starting out - it's more in line with what I'm doing right now and I think I'd be most comfortable with that just to start out. - gradually moving to more frequency as I get comfortable w/ coding and the platform.
    - I did some basic computer programming in college, so I understand the concepts and can follow code, but I'm no expert. (Pascal, Fortran, C). At work I use Visual Basic a little bit, but again, nothing too complicated. The easylanguage in Tradestation sounds like it's not too bad to learn so that also seems a + to me.