TradeStation Handicaps Active Traders

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by tfjield, Apr 28, 2006.

1. tfjield

tfjield

I've been using TradeStation for almost 2 years, now. While I have been pleased with the platform in general (albeit the lack of the ability to control it from another program), recently I have had some very negative experiences.

It all started one day when I was buying up some VPHM on a big movement and I ran out of buying power mid play. Although TradeStation indicated that I had 4x buying power, in fact, I only had 1.5x. This was not indicated anywhere.

I called TradeStation and was told that SOME biotechs have higher equity requirements. How much? Oh, 50% or 75%, depends. Where do they post this information? Get this... THEY DON'T! Why? Because it's an "internal policy subject to change on a daily basis." They suggested that I place "dummy trades" to determine what my REAL buying power is before entering a trade.

You've got to be kidding. For active traders, this is just a silly suggestion. Who has time to be placing dummy trades just to confirm the number that they have written on the bottom of my screen?!

After that, I had the same experience with PETS, "Petmed Express." I called the trading desk, and yup, 75% equity requirement. Why? "It's a biotech." WHAT?! It's specialty retail, but their brilliant credit desk labeled it as a biotech because it's got "med" in the name. Go figure.

So recently, TZOO and EZPW are moving around. EZPW isn't marginable, and TZOO's equity requirements are high. I called about EZPW... "It's not marginable." Why? "Because it's been volatile lately." volatile? Ummm, ok, sure. I'm a day trader and I prefer to play those stocks that don't move. I mean, why not? Safe for TradeStation because I'm still paying commissions without risking my margin... OF COURSE I WANT TO TRADE volatile STOCKS!