TradeStation 9.5 - Strange strategy execution

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by eddyb, Oct 11, 2020.

1. eddyb

eddyb

Hi all,

I'm new to TradeStation and I'm using the IB TSW 9.5 platform to test a strategy but it's behaving strangely in that it seems to be executing the strategy on every bar despite my code logic and disabling IntrabarOrderGeneration.

I'm no doubt missing something fundamental, so asking for help on here.

Here is my code (I've stripped out some logic to simplify things):

Code:
    { Simple Strategy }

[IntrabarOrderGeneration = false]

Inputs:
    ProfitExit(20);

Vars:
    TradeActive(False),
    TradeSize(1),
    CanTrade(False),
    NetWorth(0.0),
    Equity(0.0),
    CashBalance(0.0),
    LossLimit(0.0);

CashBalance = GetRTCashBalance(GetAccountId) ;
    Equity = GetRTAccountEquity(GetAccountId) ;
    NetWorth = GetRTAccountNetWorth(GetAccountId) ;
    LossLimit = (NetWorth / 100) * -1 ;
    CanTrade = True ;

Print("CB: ", CurrentBar, " NetWorth: ", NetWorth, " Equity: ", Equity, " CashBalance: ", CashBalance) ;

{ SetStopLoss() SetProfitTarget() MarketPosition }
    if CurrentBar > 50 then begin

Print("Close: ", Close, " Average close: ", Average(close,50)) ;

If MarketPosition = 0 then

If Close > Average(Close,50) and Close[1] < Average(Close,50) then
                Print("Buying") ;
                Buy next bar at market ;

If MarketPosition = 1 then

print("Trade PNL: ", GetPositionOpenPL(GetSymbolName, GetAccountId)) ;

If Close < Average(Close,50) and Close[1] > Average(Close,50) then
                Print("Selling") ;
                Sell next bar at market ;

And here is what I'm seeing when I add the strategy to the chart:

https://prnt.sc/ux3u2x

Many thanks,
    Eddy

2. I'm not EL savy but if you don't get a good answer here, Why don't you post Your Question at tradestation Sub Forum " easylanugage and software Support" or send them email to support .

3. Handle123

Handle123

Isn't TS on version 10?

4. eddyb