Tradestation 7.2 opinion requested

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by condorll, Dec 21, 2003.

1. Hello,

I have 25 years trading experience, the past 8 years quite active.

I trade EOD, 2 - 10 days, Nasdaq stocks, primarily tech's-semi's. The past 2 years I have been using mechanical trading systems (my own) with good results.

I get frustrated swing trading in a range as we are experiencing with the Nasdaq recently, and as such have resorted to intraday trading. I have been quite successful using support and
    resistance as well as trendlines (all intraday on 3 min charts).

This (although lucrative) method is far too eyebuldging intensive!

My setup is not condusive to intraday trading.
    I currently use IB feed into Quotetracker, standalone Amibroker EOD version for backtesting formula's.
    I could upgrade to Amibroker Real Time, add a "real" data vendor and continue to run IB-Quotetracker-Amibroker but I still would not have the possibility of the auto trade feature. And the cost would be about 60-100 bucks/month

I need a better platform for intraday trading as well as the possibility to test and possibly automate my mechanical systems (on intraday data) and was thinking of going with the new Tradestation 7.2 platform. (cost about the same $100/m)

I would appreciate any comments on the Tradestation 7.2 platform`(especially from traders who use auto trade function)

Has TS 7.2 provided timely data (minimal lag?) with no spikes?
    How is the ease of manual order entry compared to IB.
    How does the backtester compare with Amibroker or Metastock.
    Are the TS 7.2 Charts good for intraday trading?

I am very reluctant to switch my current setup as I really like IB amd Amibroker, however my needs have changed.

Comments from EXPERIENCED successful traders (intraday and auto-trade) who have used IB and TS 7.2 would be appreciated.

No newbies please. (no offence)

Thanks

2. bobcathy1

bobcathy1 Guest

4+ years experience
    3+ on TradeStation