trader's income proof and ...

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by clearpicks, Oct 31, 2005.

1. I started as a full time private trader since beginning of this year. Now I need to finish some paperwork for my son's health insurance plan, which requires me to provide my job title and salary of this year. Although my trading is profitable so far, I have no "regular" job and salary. Since this is my first year as a full time private trader, I have no idea how to answer these kind of questions. Is "Private Trader" considered as a job? Is my trading profit considered as "income" or "salary"? How do you guys trading alone at home dealing with this kind of issues mentioned above? Moreover do I need to pay social security tax? Can I apply home mortgage as a private trader (I can only provide less than one year full time trading history)?

I am ordering "The Tax Guide for Traders" from Amazon and hopefully I can get answers for most of my questions. However before I receive that book, can someone answer my questions so that I can finish my son's health insurance paperwork as soon as possible? Thanks in advance.

- Clearpicks

2. No such thing as a full time private trader.. you are a trader

You should be either under market to market accounting, or have your own LLC set up.

Your gains should be considered ordinary income.. Income being key word. You are not salaried.

If you are going to be applying for mortgages or any extensive use of credit, form an LLC and say you are an equities trader for the LLC compensated based on performance.. ect.

I suggest you contact a trader accountant..

Good luck.

3. bighog

bighog Guest

Do this for fun.

Go to the local bank, dressed in your best suit, tie, shoes etc. LOOK SHARP!!!