Traders in Australia/NZ

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by nzbryant, Sep 14, 2005.

1. Hi all

I was wondering, what do other active traders in Australia and NZ trade? What do you trade - HSI? SPI? Japan stocks? European stocks? Australian stocks through expensive brokers?:(

I'm trading US stocks though becoming sick of being up so late - often until 2am - much later with daylight saving. I trade them as the comm is so low through IB, while Comsec in Australia is $20/trade.

Would be interested to hear what you trade please, and who you use for broking and charting.

Thanks in advance!

Rod

2. Have a look at Macquarie CFDs on individual stocks.

The way of the future for ASX trading.

3. markc

markc

I trade ES, and use IB and Esignal. Used to trade the SPI, 10's and 3's.

Also trade Aussie CFD's on a multi day/week timeframe. I'm a noob at that though.

I used to sit up all night. Gave it away for most of this year then started again a few weeks ago. Made myself sick - on one occasion working 30hrs straight. What a crappy existence.

I am not sitting up now - have just started using Ninjatrader to manage the entry and breakeven stop. I get up at 3.30 AEST anyway so I then make adjustments at that time.

When daylight saving changes soon I will be able to manually manage my trades because I am up from 5-8am during the US afternoon.

4. As an Aussie, I see no point at all in trading the US markets due to the time frame.

As I see it:

Access to futures in our day time:
    Nikkei, SPI, Hang Seng along with all the other asian futures contracts.

Access to stocks in Sydney, HK and Japan.

Evening access to the European markets including DAX, FTSE, Eurostoxx, Bund, BOBL, Schatz etc

I'd much prefer to be able to go on dates etc than sit up all night to trade in a bigger market.

5. Use IB/SierraChart/NinjaTrader

Trade HSI only (+some EOD stuff while i sleep) because of its great hours (for a Queenslander).