$ Traders, C++ Developers at Capital Mngmt firms?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by INChicago, Oct 3, 2005.

1. I briefly saw a financial statement on a 34 yr old fellow who was a trader for -?- Capital Management. He had a salary of $100+k and earned $200+k in bonuses. He has a couple million in net worth, and his job title is simply a "Trader" for a Capital Management firm. The firm he works for, as well as many others firms, have system developers who use C++, Linux/Unix programs in order to build system trading strategies.
    I briefly worked for a Commodity Brokerage firm in Chicago, and also spent a short time as a Financial Advisor for Merrill Lynch. However, I've come to the conclusion that I'm not good at bringing in clients, because I don't have the people personality, but rather more of an analytical/mathmatical mind.
    I presently hold my Series 7, Series 3, 66, and 30, and I'm obtaining some C++ and Linux certifications in order to apply for some positions with some Capital Management firms. I'd like to speak with those of you who may have quality information regarding these type of Cap mngmnt firms. I'm not necessarily interested in Prop trading firms, because it sounds like props bring you on board, rush you through their in-adequate training programs, stick you at a desk, then flush you out of the company at the first sign of a capital drawdown.
    On this forum, are there any traders or developers affiliated with capital management firms, or are most here self traders? Feel free to share any quality information you may have to offer on positions/employment details with cap mngmt firms.

Best.