Traders Block

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Zarrar, Jan 10, 2001.

1. Zarrar

Zarrar

Hello all,

I'm pretty much new to this thread and website. I started trading about three months, it went well until I contracted the disease known as traders block. I can see opportunities happening, and I have a very good idea when to trade and when to exit, somehow I cannot shake the frozen trigger finger.

It started when somewhere in November 2000, Akamai (AKAM, NASDAQ) slid 12 points while at the same time my PC crashed. It was too late to get out of the position as AKAM had already went too deep. It eventually came back up and lived a 'happily ever after' ending. But it did leave me with less bravery. Does anyone have any clue on how to end this nightmare.

Thanks,

Zarrar

2. Dustin

Dustin

I would suggest implementing your system on a small scale for 2-4 weeks, until you know that the system works. Hopefully trading small with consistent profits would reduce your fears. I used this strategy a while back and after two weeks of small but consistent profits I felt very confident.

Good Luck
    Dustin

3. The fact that the trauma stemmed from your computer going down means that you probably need to feel confident in the stability of your system, internet connection, etc. in order to be comfortable pulling the trigger. Whichever broker you use, you should be able to call them on the phone and place a trade if your system goes down. Therefore, you need to have your broker's number posted by your workstation or better yet on speed dial. If you get into a position and your system goes down, better to immediately call the broker and exit the position as quickly as possible until you're back up and running.