Trader wannabe with no money. Work for free?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by HRT, Feb 28, 2010.

1. HRT

HRT

Quick intro:

In mid 2008, after reading 10 books or so I fell in love with trading, the realistic, crude, merciless nature of the game captivated me. So I started trading with my own account using a ridiculously low amount of money, with the intention of learning. I've made only 10 trades in 3 months, all day-trades at the long side. I was a total noob and could only play long because I didn't have enough to play short, anyway, the results weren't bad.

After those 2,5 months I finally started to break-even and of course, I learned a lot (is impressive the amount of good info you can get from only 10 trades). Ok, continuing. In the meanwhile my father lost his "job", so I had to give up my ridiculously low amount of money for the family's sake. That was it. The plan was to keep studying and reading books until I get my money back and then some more, in the form of start-up capital (my father used to make a lot, so my expectations were realistic).

In the meantime, I read Trade Your Way to Financial Freedom and reached the conclusion that I was completely dreaming and there was no way in hell I could succeed with the amount of money that I was expecting, I needed at least triple, and my father couldn't find a high-paying "job" like before. That triggered my "time stop-loss". I won't be getting start-up capital anytime soon (if ever). So now I have 3 options:

1 - Start working in a soul-crushing job until I got the money. I'm college drop-out (advertising, biggest mistake of my life). Working at something I really deeply hate will take 3-4 years of 9-5 without spending a single dime and having to life with my parents until I am 26, so theeeen I can be a trader, if I'll be a profitable one, then that's another story.