Trader vs Financial Advisor; Passion vs Practicality

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by CalScholar, Aug 4, 2007.

1. So, I'm graduating from university in a couple weeks (should have graduated in May, though I took the overly indulgent route) and I have the opportunity to join the trading desk at a small investment bank. I'd be assisting the head trader/market maker, and the role is intended to lead to a "senior trader" position. The bottom line: I love trading, not investing; and, based on my past results (outside of my blow-up a couple of years ago), I am confident that I can succeed in the trading arena.

Meanwhile, another opportunity as a financial advisor (for a leading firm) has presented itself. The bottom line: I have extensive sales experience with a track record of success, but I don't want to make a career in sales. Now, you're probably thinking, "Well there's your answer," but the discrepancy in pay leaves me wondering.

The trading firm is offering $30K + %profits, while the financial advisor role offers a base of $65-80K + commissions -- based on my experience and 7/63 licensing, I was told to expect an offer around $70K.

While I really want to go the trading route, the additional income from the advisor job, if saved, can finance a fairly generous personal trading account.

I'd appreciate any informed opinions, especially from people with knowledge about the salaries of experienced market makers. In other words, if I pursue the market maker route, and succeed in the role, what can I reasonably expect (salary-wise) 3-5 years from now and most likely at a different firm? Will starting at a small investment bank help me land a trading role at a larger firm in the future? Or is the opposite true?

2. rosy2

rosy2

market maker in what types of securities?

financial advisor selling what types of advice to what types of clients?

3. Market maker in midcap, independent oil and gas companies.