Trader Jo - Updates

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by zzulus, Feb 24, 2018.

1. zzulus

zzulus

I'm starting working my own algo trader. Meet, the not existing yet, Trader Jo.

I'll be using IB + Java + Windows. I will be doing that for fun, I'm not going to be a hardcore trader, and I know what professional traders would say about me:)

A little about me. I graduated from NTUU KPI; live in Seattle, WA; have 13 years of experience in software development. Have 0 experience in trading, I have read a couple of books on trading and investments. English is my second language, so expect missing articles and weird combinations of random words.

I lost $28K in February, that was a good lesson. Almost all my shorts cost me money, so I won't be using them in the Trader Jo. Trader Jo will be trading stocks with high volume assuming a bear trend (yeah, I know what you think about it and I know that eventually that will cost me).

I'll post trade and change logs in this thread. I'll use github or some other public git repo as a code repository.

Any good advice on the existing implementation of simple indicators? Like all kind of single/exponential/triangular moving averages, vwap, etc.

Wish me good luck.

2. algofy

algofy

Good luck.

cartmm, dealmaker and djames like this.
  3. qxr1011

qxr1011

Man o man... So what a heck will you program, which ideas,.....????

I do not believe in capabilities of any method or trader that does not short....

Again developed ideas, test them, then program

And never, never program anything for trading while you yourself believe that you have zero experience in trading , wait when you feel that you at least 1. :)

Last edited: Feb 24, 2018
  4. zzulus

zzulus

Ideas? First I'll try to use wavy and random nature of the price. I'll see how it works with different stocks.

> I do not believe in capabilities of any method or trader that does not short....