Trader Career Transition

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by bone, Dec 26, 2016.

1. bone

bone

I started trading my own futures account in 1993, and started taking training clients on a part-time basis in 2008. In the past five years, a significant portion of my client work has been with full time professionals in a career path outside trading, who traded actively in the past, and who wanted to make a serious push towards actively trading once again whilst keeping their present jobs. Many of these clients also harbor ambitions towards someday trading full time. Seems to be a common goal for more than a few ET Members.

In fact, I did it myself. I originally moved to Chicago straight out of University in the late 1980's to take a job as a nuclear engineer at the biggest nuclear utility in the U.S., and several years later I found myself trading primarily US Treasury futures - this was not an original life plan.

I thought I would start a thread where I archive some thoughts and ideas about how this might be realized, and communicate some of my own thoughts and client experiences on this idea of making a career transition into serious part-time or even full time trading. It happens, and it is imminently possible - especially thanks to modern screen accessible markets.

Baron and water7 like this.
  2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

Good luck! Let me know if I can help in anyway.

Bob

3. Overnight

Overnight

Thank you for the missive. As you say, you have taken your own experience and applied it to a client base which has traded in the past, and would like "to try it again", as it were.

The main question here is...Why is full-time trading such a difficult field to break into? It is not physically-demanding, only mentally.

I think I know the answer, but would like to read your take on that bit.

4. bone

bone