Trader and Modern Psychoanalyst looks at fear and greed

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by neisykay, Dec 9, 2003.

1. Hello everyone - I have been a day and position trader since the summer of 1994. I also have my Master's degree in Classical psychoanalysis from the University of Chicago and now am working on a doctoral degree through the Institute of Modern Psychoanalysis in NYC. Modern psychoanalysis is VERY different from the Freudian stuff we all know a little about....

anyway... I am doing a bit of a study on HOW fear and greed manifest themself in relation to trading decisions. I am interested in the FEELINGS traders get as trades are either working or not working....

The point of this is that I am going to try to write an useful article on how to USE THE EMOTIONS to overcome them - sort of the core of the modern psychoanalytic technique.

If anyone would like to tell me their perspective, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks, Denise

2. ig0r

ig0r

Here's how it plays out for many. When a trade is going their way, greed kicks in and (assuming they have a winning strategy) instead of sticking to their exit rules, they'll either take profit too soon (gives the feeling of accomplishment, even though it was the wrong thing to do) or let a winner turn into a loser (this one really hurts, will sometimes cause you to next time take your profits too soon, and vice versa), ignoring the facts of the price action in front of them. When they're in a loser, fear kicks in. Instead of sticking to their rules they'll start holding longer than they should and start 'hoping' that the position will come back into profitability, only taking their losses after they've lost more than they can bear.

3. UVLC

UVLC

It's only fear.

Greed is fear of leaving too much on the table.