Tradeoptimizer, Wealthlab

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by ck9, Apr 25, 2004.

1. ck9

ck9

i am a discretionary trader with no programming knowledge who wants to get into the world of computerized trading.
    after reading a lot of threads about backtesting software i found wealth lab and tradeoptimizer to be the most interesting choices.

How difficult is it to learn the wealthlab programming language without a programming background?

Does anybody use tradeoptimizer? i have only found a review by avalanche which looked very promising. avalanche, it would be very helpful if you could give us an update.
    how does tradeoptimizer compare to wealth lab?

thanks for your help.

2. I had your problem eariler and been hasitating few
    monthes between wealthlab and Tradestation, Until
    recently i decided which software to use for backtesting
    and automizing.
    Takes a look at this page for example:
    http://www.activetradermag.com/code.htm
    It has coding for both Wealthlab, tradestation for some
    certain strategies, as you can see very similar comparing
    them, with only TS "Easylanguage easier to understand
    or learn".

I have heard many guys with no programing background
    give up on coding because they never made it.

I agree that Wealthlab little more advance and that's why
    coding is more difficult too. Start with easylanguage, and
    later moving to wealth lab will be much easier if you need
    to. Learning coding is one pain in the @#&? business itself.

So don't start out with wealthlab, because you might fail,
    becuase your aim isn't suited toward your obejectives based
    on knowledge that you might be having today.

Most guys who use wealthlab started with Tradestation
    first day, and most still using it because charting and 3rd
    party support is much stronger than Wealthlab.

Also there is risk going with smaller firm. What if tomorrow
    TS solves Portfolio testing, bid and ask data, or other issues