trade mornings only?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by JPB, Mar 15, 2002.

1. JPB

JPB

I'm looking for a few opinions on this.
    I'm new to trading (just into month 5). I had my first positive month in February (barely). I have upped my shares this month, and I'm having mixed results. I usually have a good morning, until about 10:30-11:00, then often give it all back with high interest by the end of the day. My daily goal for this month is $200. I have been averaging above that on my up days, but I keep having a blowout (to me--$800 or so with commissions) down day about once a week, ruining my week. The really tough thing to swallow is on these days (3 so far this month) I was up between $200 and $400 at some point early in the morning. For example, this morning: up $430-$80 commissions at 10:15, down -$415 -$279 ($694!) at 4:00. I lost most of it around noon when the market dropped on the hand grenade news. I didn't see the news, or the initial drop. I have been trying to avoid dead zone trading. When I walked in at 12:20, the Naz futures had dropped a fairly smooth 14 points and had already retraced almost 50%. There was some volume, so I jumped into some mistimed shorts. I was quickly down, panicked, flipped my position, lost again, then took one more short out for flat before I could even realize I was trading panicked and stepped back. I took a break, came back at 2:45 and churned a whole bunch in commissions for nothing.

My plan for next week is as follows: If I'm up over $200 at 11:00, quit for the day. Otherwise, I can play the close.
    It just kills me to know I may be missing opportunities and experience. I know I'm eventually going to need to play the last two hours to move to the next level.

Hmmm...this post ended up kind of long.

Any thoughts on this plan, or advice otherwise?

Thanks,

Johnny

EDIT: I posted this in the wrong forum and now I don't seem to have permission to delete it or move it. Oops.

2. Woody

Woody