Trade for a living- best approach

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by tudor.squared, Mar 14, 2010.

1. What would be the best approach for someone to continue learning and eventually transition to full-time trading several years down the road? FWIW, I have been swing-trading and intra-day trading stocks for 4 years or so (part-time) with moderate success. Recently I am in a position where I can no longer touch stocks and can only trade ETFs (swing only) or futures. So, my options are:

-swing-trade ETFs
    -day-trade futures in the evening for a 2 hrs or so (the opening in Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, Korea). Looking at trading ideally from 8-11pm Eastern. If you find this option most suitable, please recommend product to trade as well, whether currency futures, index etc. I was looking at Taiwan's Index futures STW on the SGX, as its USD denominated (but it doesn't have to be- not a dealbreaker).

****Please don't turn this thread into a debate about trading on a full-time basis and failure rates. I am not well enough capitalized to even consider that for a few years but well enough capitalized to trade futures with 1-2 contracts.****

Thanks in advance.

2. 1st paragraph Translation: I can’t trade stocks anymore because I lost too much money and cannot get around the PDT rule. By moderate success, I assume you mean you haven’t lost all your money yet. Because if you did have what I consider moderate success, you would have enough money trade the contract or instrument that best fits your personality.

Having said the above, you need to realize there is no holy grail and no secret to learn because it sounds like (unfortunately, very typically) you think there is a shortcut to success. THERE is not. Based on the very limited info you have posted, it is impossible to recommend anything as you need to figure yourself out to figure out what the best instrument to trade for YOU is.