Totally confused by balance of payments... Uni Work.

Discussion in 'Economics' started by The_Spoon, Apr 21, 2010.

1. The_Spoon

The_Spoon

Hi everybody, I've just come across this forum and it looks really interesting, I'm just getting into finance and financial markets and am really enjoying what I am learning so far (Even though it's just the basics currently)

I'm currently finishing off a piece of coursework for my International Finance module and I'm a bit confused regarding how the balance of payments is supposed to work and what info can be derived from it. It's quite basic stuff but it just seems to not be clicking in my brain, I've looked over the lecture slides, read the books and emailed the tutor but still have no clue.

Basically, we have to compare Australia with another country through the financial crisis (I'm using the UK) and chart and describe the differences of various economic indicators. I've done all the rest but am stuck with the balance of payments and how the different accounts inter-relate.

The assignment says we are supposed to look at the Current & Capital account balances but the figures I'm finding are confusing.

Now as an example, Q4 2009 for the UK accounts show the following.

Current Account Balance: -£1803Million
    Capital Account Balance: £972Million + £6149Million Net financial transactions = £7121Million

Therefore to make it balance the Errors and Omissions must be -£5318Million according to the accounts. (But that doesn't seem to add up)

Now I'm confused as to how they inter-relate. I know current account is for trade of goods & services and capital is for international financial transactions but why do they need to balance? And on top of that what can be derived from comparing the current account AND the capital account - don't they equal zero and cancel each other out... hence balancing? That would mean one should be the direct inverse of the other.