total noob.. want to change USD to AUD for stock...

Discussion in 'Forex' started by IndyJonerJr, Mar 21, 2018.

1. hi guys,

first I use interactive brokers..

second, total noob question as I might relocate to AU, but through investment they want certain percentages of AU stock... so my big question is converting say 11 million USD to AUD, can I get actual mid market rate when doing a currency conversion or am I gonna get charged some other rate? converting that much dollar could mean losing a few hundred thousand so want to know what I'm looking at if I go this route..

I literally know nothing one forex, I trained myself in just stock then moved to options so literally I couldn't even read a chart of what I'm looking at right now..

appreciate any help guys, thanks

2. JackRab

JackRab

Who wants certain percentages of AU stock? What's that about, never heard of that... O, wait... you mean get in Australia on an Investor Visa?

If you can trade currency with IB (not everyone is allowed to do that, depending on country of residence)... you get the spot price.

Currently AUD.USD is quoted like this...

upload_2018-3-22_13-55-0.png

So if you would buy AUD you should easily be filled for 10 mln at 0.77437 USD. That's about 400 bucks of the midpoint on 10mln AUD trade.

But, most people find the AUD is overvalued to the USD... so... don't burn yourself on the price...

3. thanks Jack,

yeah through investor visa you have to hold certain percentage of money in "Australia investment" so was gonna do straight bonds, but AU isn't big so not many US ETF that I could just pop in..

yeah I think it's overvalued also...

wow, so 400 is amazing.. its also IB charges a .08% rates on transfer over 5,000,000 correct? so just a few thousand to convert?

THanks again

4. JackRab

JackRab

No way less in fees... on 1 mln USD trade you pay about 20 bucks in commission. Or so it says on my order ticket. So ... a few hundred in commission for a 11 mln USD trade.