Total newbie options questions

Discussion in 'Options' started by Feyd, May 6, 2008.

1. Feyd

Feyd

Hi folks - please bear with me here... I trade stocks but Ive never traded options before. I am trying to learn and understand how people use them typically. Thanks in advance to anyone with the patience to teach a nub.

So ... let's use YHOO as an example. If I had bought a $30 June put... and YHOO went down like it did today.. Im curious as to what happens when you exercise that put. Does one typically buy the stock at the current price, then exercise the put? Can you exercise a put if you dont have the stock? Im trying to understand that part of the trade.

Thanks all - retarded question but I just read 3 options tutorials and none of them explain that. Calls make sense since you are about to buy the stock.

2. MTE

MTE

There's no reason for you to exercise the put or call for that matter if you bought it just a speculative trade, you are better off just selling it. If you do have an explicit wish to exercise then exercising a put would create a short stock position in your account, which will then have it's margin requirement.

3. The situations when it makes sense to exercise an option are so rare that you may as well begin with the assumption that you should NEVER exercise an option. You can learn the exceptions to that rule later on, and they will make more sense to you when you have more experience.

If you buy a put and the stock drops, the put (the investment you bought) should go up in value. Sell the investment you bought (sell the put to close) to close out your position for a profit. No exercise, no shares to worry about, nothing complicated.

4. Feyd

Feyd

Ah hah - thanks MTE and Commiebat.. thats awesome. I didnt realize that was how options were typically played.

Thanks a lot for your time :)