total n00b question IB vs TD

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by Timmah5309, Dec 31, 2008.

1. I'm a rookie slowly learning how to trade. I've been with ameritrade for about 3 years now and I'm looking to switch to IB. Here's my n00b question:

Am I getting ripped off like I think I am by paying $10 / trade $11/option transaction ? I looked at IB's fee schedule, and the best I can tell, unless I'm missing something obvious, is that it's only a couple dollars per contract/trade. I checked to see if there were any other gotchas like monthly fees, but it seems like a much better deal since my trades are small enough that commissions can eat into my potential profits.

Is there some hidden fee I'm not seeing ?

Thanks

2. I'm pretty sure IB requires a min of 10,000 deposit if I remember.

Edit: $10,000.00

3. thanks for the reply. I did see the requirement of 10,000 on there to open the account. If I open up a lemonade stand and mow a few lawns in the neighborhood and put my next paycheck on the superbowl, I think I can make it in a couple months.

Other than that, I really like the idea of $2-$3 trades. But "If it sounds too good to be true"..

4. you could go with ameritrade IZone account, only 5 dollars a trade. Its all internet based so no phone support, but worth it. Only requirement is one year of brokerage experience I believe (could be 2) but seems as though you have that, check that out.

5. There are a few guys here whose sole purpose seems to be posting in this type of thread saying how great IB is, and how anyone who complains about IB is a moron. They will probably be along in a minute.

I have my accounts at IB since there is no other firm that provides me with the ability to trade all instruments from one account. I also like the fact that your money is perhaps safer at IB than at any other broker which is not an arm of a huge bank.