Total beginner here/ACD

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by rjlund, Mar 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rjlund

rjlund

Greetings everyone.

I just began trading the ES and am looking for any tips, advice, etc. anyone is willing to offer. I've spent months reading trading books and going blind watching charts, and have been actually trading for about a month now. So far the most helpful writer/trader/guru/whatever you wanna call him is Mark Fisher. I've been following his ACD methodology religiously and have realized reasonable profits. Of course, I'm only trading one contract but hey, you've gotta start somewhere. Does anyone else on here use this methodology? Any advice about ACD or trading the ES would be greatly appreciated.

I've read all the posts about money management, risk management, the inevitability of losing, etc. and I'm pretty familiar with all of that. I know the first thing everyone tells a newbie is "Just be prepared to lose your ass," and I've accepted that. I'm trading with strictly risk-capital so I'm prepared for the losses should/when they come. I'm also Irish so my cynical nature keeps me ready for the worst. I have noticed the Murphy's Law applies to nothing so much as it does to trading.

Thanks

2. Tell me more....Tell me more!!!

3. I tried to automate it on equities and it didn't work very well due to slippage when wrong, however I think it would work better with Futures that are more fluid. There is a link somewhere on ET to his seminar that is archived either on the cboe or cbot website.

All in all its one of the better methodologies I have seen.

4. rjlund

rjlund