Tomorrow's Pricing

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Dave at NextDay, Apr 29, 2010.

1. Since, when I first joined ET about a week ago, I was posting in the Journal thread of the Trading for a Living forum, I had already given my background and purpose for posting with ET. For those who have not read those threads, I'll give a quick explanation. I've been a professional trader for over 30 years and am winding down, not that I'll ever quit. Over the years I've developed a couple algorithms that I've used which have been helpful in reducing my risk at entry, both in time and price exposure, which in the end significantly improved my profit ratios.

The basic premise is that valuation, rather than price, is a more stable number on which to evaluate entries and/or exits. Consequently, I started running valuation calcs on the each stock within portfolios which we were managing. I'd take the results and shove them back into the portfolio and apply the appropriate weighting and get a resultant number.

Since that worked, I began modifying the formula to see if I could refine it to the extent that I could project just one day ahead for one stock. To my surprise it worked, so all I've done is apply the law of large numbers and have been running it ever since for the indexes. Since then, I've applied to sectors in ETFs, the FX market, etc. and it's close enough. When I jumped to the futures business in the early 80's I decided to begin running those calcs on the components of the indexes, principally the S&P in order to refine my entries. The calc runs the most probable maximum and minimum price, then I run a simple Monte Carlo to get the most probable price level for an average day. Finally, volatilities of each component are considered and factored into the final results.