Tomorrow...Explosive?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by trade-ya1, May 3, 2005.

1. At the risk of embarrassing myself, I'm feeling that tomorrow may be explosive in many markets. I think a lot of markets are at critical junctures, (ie. the $ has rallied to a point that much further rally might be considered a long term trend change, bonds have been steadily creeping up and could be explosive to the upside and equities are scitzo every other day). My bet is explosive rally in bonds after FOMC hike of 25 bps as market interprets this as one of the last hikes of the cycle, $/Eur takes out stops to the downside (of Eur) pre-FOMC and $ sells off hard after the decision (EUR range 1.2760-1.2980 closing at highs). Equities rally on higher bonds but selloff into the close on a weakening economy. I might buy some one-day vol. and forget my predicitions :).

2. Don't think you embarrass yourself by calling out the possibility of erratic action, my friend. I think if you came on here claiming armageddon was in the mix, you might (read all the black monday threads). But a little warning about the potential? Nah, actually I prefer warnings from people I know to be rather experienced.

Cheers.

3. Thanks, Ivan. It's always a risk to post BEFORE events take place. So many market observers/participants love to voice opinions how they had it nailed after the fact. I suppose no guts, no glory. This is my scenario and I'm sticking to it! :) Unless I change my mind...:)

4. trade-ya1,

interesting thoughts. are you still long EUR? And what are your positions in bonds like?

misc

5. I'm long Yen looking for supportive price action to buy EUR. I'm long bonds looking to buy more on confirmation of my overall market thesis. Not heavily positioned at the moment, however, I believe I will be shortly after FOMC if see confirmation of my ideas. Best, Neal.