Toad's Experience

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Toad, Nov 4, 2005.

1. Toad

Toad

I just wanted to share my trading experiences with you all. It may help some and it may not.

For the last two years I have devoted every nanosecond to learning to successfully daytrading (I traded Prop and my own retail account) the ES, YM, Dax, FTSE and Euro. I am no longer going to do this and honestly believe even for good traders it is a rare trader who can day trade successfully.

Before I was daytrading the Index Futures I was a directional options trader and doing on average 20%+ a month.

I believe there are very few daytrading setups that actually work with a high probability and on a consistent basis. And even if they do work you have to be very fast in your decision making process and have nerves of steel to sit through every tick against you. In my last year of options trading I more than doubled my account and now that same money sits at 40% of the starting value.

I have finally realised I don't have the right psychology for day trading futures. I have my strengths as a trader, but making decisions quickly is not one of them. And hitting the panic button when a trade went against me was not a good feeling.

I haven't actually lost any money in over a year. All of my losses were at the start when I got wiped out when going through a bad patch due to having no money management strategies in place for trading futures in respect of my account equity. I have been breakeven for about the last year, but can't get beyond that stage.