To the Career Traders...

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by marketdude, Mar 29, 2008.

1. I know its different for everyone but, how long did it take you to become a consistent winner and make a career out of trading?

I'm just starting out and finding it very frustrating. I'm trying to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

2. seadog

seadog

Over 5 years, stareing at the screen and finding my own system. I day trade futures. I use chart patterns and other stuff.
    seadog

3. cold

cold

yeah about 5 years is right

I just love when guys show up and say 6 months

oh and oh yeahh daddy was a floor trader

4. seadog

seadog

Keep in mind most of it is a head game.The market reacts on how people react, and there are patterns that develop. Look for these patterns.

5. jnbadger

jnbadger

It's nice to know I'm not the slow learner I thought I was.

"5 years","thousands of screen hours."

They're not just cliches.

I read an article in SFO mag a while back which stated 10 to 20 thousand screen hours are necessary to become truly proficient.

Although this seems high, and possibly discouraging, I believe it is important to recognize what a new trader is getting him/herself into.

I was one of those idiots (back in August of '96) who thought he was going to make money right off the bat. I honestly believe that attitude, along with an inflated ego due to previous accomplishments in life, set me back a few years.

Be aware of what you are getting into.

This shit ain't easy.

6. Been studying and trading futures since Oct 2004. Have over 4000 screen hours up until now and have read many books
    and I am just now getting a clue and making small consistent profits...Hope it helps

7. Some actual good, honest feedback here.

I guess it depends on what you call profitable. For example, making any profit or making $XXX,XXX+ of profit...