To prop or not to prop...

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by pandorasbox, Feb 13, 2007.

1. Is there any other reason to go prop than leverage (don't need training and have my own software)?

My strategy holds positions overnight and prop firms charge a hefty financing fee. If I trade it with IB and get a loan with lower interest than the prop firm charges for overnights I don't see why I would go to a prop firm.

Am I missing something here???

2. i have never worked at a prop shop before, i was just wondering how much do they charge you to finance positions???????

3. It varies, around fed funds +2% for the longs, some also charge extra haircuts and such.

4. Not sure where you're getting your information...I would guess that you might be missing something (or talking to the wrong people). For example, we give our traders 6 times their equity for overnights (hedged) with no Haircut. If they take home 30 times their equity, they pay an average of less than 4% per year..??

But, the main reason is to be able to use a couple of $million for opening only, pairs, M&A, market making, etc. - the "Lower risk, higher reward, but capital intensive" strategies employed by big hedge funds, Lehman, GS and all...vs. simple directional trading of equities.

I don't think IB is going to loan you a $million every day for free.

FWIW,

Don

Don :confused:

5. Don,
    i am a futures guy by nature working on the sell side,

i am looking at Single Stock futures abitrage with normal equities,

theese are low strategies of course but i need to be hihgly leveraaged, are you saying that fi i needed 30 million dollars to fnanace a transaction i can get 4% borrowin costs

6. Don,

What is your haircut charge?

For example, if I have 100K capital, and I hold positions (not hedged) of 800K. There should have no charge for the first 600K, and you will charge the remaining 200K. What is the rate for that 200K?