To profitable traders: How do you feel?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Kastro_316, Nov 14, 2005.

1. Since I am a student and a DEMO/back testing trader, still testing systems and working on certain things, I would like to know how you "Full time traders" feel. Do you wake up every morning and think "Wow, I made it, I beat the odds" or do you think along the lines of “I hope I don't lose today” or “I need to get better"

When ever I am in pursuit of a dream, I always think to my self when I realize that dream I am not going to have a care in the world, but it seems every time I realize a dream I have worked hard for, I continue to doubt my self and think "I should be better"

Anyone else have this?

2. I *used* to be excited about the markets, back when I knew much less than I know today. Nowadays, after several years of this grind, I'm often just tired of the everyday bs and crappy market conditions, hence my sometimes, not-so-good attitude. It doesn't reflect on the monetary performace, as I've done well, but it's just the kind of market that wears you out. So, no more excitement for me. It's just a job. Only, no boss. But still a job.

So, I can't really be fired, but if I screw up and lose a ton of dough, it would be about the equivalent of losing a job in a way?

It's not a "dream" for me. More of a "responsibility", since, due to the way I trade, I cannot get away from here even 1 day! So, I actually feel like I've built this "mini-prison" from which I can't escape. Unless I hire someone to take over the daily functions of keeping everything working right. But then, I'll be an "employer", somebody I don't want to become. Overhead will be higher, etc.

3. Deptrai

Deptrai