To everyone who wants to quit their job and trade full-time

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by jackson1234, Mar 10, 2010.

1. Every week there seems to be a thread about this, I thought I would offer my advise. I have been trading full-time for almost 10 years. I started out with 30k and have slowly built my capital, for several years I have been making an annual income that would put me in the top 1% of wage earners.

When I started I was 26 with a back up plan, if trading didn't work after 1-2 years I could easily get a job. Also low expenses, and no wife/kids to support.

A lot of people on here have a family to support, also the economy being what it is there is no guarantee of getting a job. Trading can be very stressful at times, I've had periods where I didn't make a cent for 6 months. If I had a family, just imagine how hard that would be.

Now I'm not trying to put anyone off with this post, after all it worked for me and I'm living the dream, but I do want to offer some positive advice.

I know this is a US board, but everyone seems to be focussed on US markets and not considering there is incredible opportunity in other time zones. People seem to think the only option is to quit their job and day trade the US session.

I trade in the Asian time zone, and spend about 2-3 hours a day at the screens. It is absolutely not necessary to sit in front of the screens many hours a day to make a great living.

Change your mentality from "if I could quit my job I could focus 100% on trading and make a living", and realise you have a great opportunity right in front of you. Keep your day job and come home at night and learn to trade Asian futures. You have job security and your wife is happy, and a huge advantage is you can trade without pressure.