To Anyone Who Has Made the Transition Into Futures

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Mike805, Nov 16, 2005.

1. Here is a bit about my history and my current goals:

I have been a full time stock trader for 2.5 years (mostly intraday/swing) and part time stock trader/investor (longer time frames) for 5 years prior to that. I am currently mildly successful in intraday trading and more so when trading 1 day-2 week time frames. I trade both relatively liquid stocks and very illiquid stocks, I like the inefficient pricing that lower liquidity issues are often associated with. My methodology is a type of visual chart/tape reactionary trading (I'm not sure how to explain it but it works and suits my personality well - I can describe it more if anyone wants to know).

In my daily research I often track commodities and recently, I've been noticing some correlations between crude, the CAD and JPY currencies, transports, etc. I readily study all markets (macro and micro) and the more global aspect of commodities is really starting to appeal to me. Given this I believe I could effectively apply some of my basic ideas to trading certain futures.

Given the above, I know a little, but am still largely ignorant about the basic's of trading futures. I've watched the ES and I've been tracking crude for some time but I've never actually traded anything in the derivative category. I am planning to devote 30k and 2 years of learning curve to this pursuit. 1 contract at a time only for 2 years worth of losses at an already calculated risk. That being said I do not have problems with discipline.

Can anyone share their experiences with such a transition, be it a successful or unsuccessful one? Learning curves, ingrained thought processes from stocks that had to be removed and re-programmed?