To all non-resident alien prof daytraders

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by chs245, May 6, 2002.

1. chs245

chs245

I recently started to trade professionally (ie Series 7 licensed and in a US LLC) and have determined that my status for US tax purposes is "non resident alien".

I was wondering whether there are some people on ET who are in the same situation and willing to share their experience.

In particular I wonder whether for US tax purposes we are considered to have a business activity in the US and as such are subject to US income taxes.

Also, I read that if you would like to use mark-to-market accounting, you have to notify the IRS by the 15th of April in the year for which you are planning to apply for that status. Can anyone confirm that ? If I missed that deadline, would that mean that I can't benefit from the "Trader in securities" status THIS year :confused:

Many thanks for any inputs !

Oliver

2. m22au

m22au

I am an Australian citizen and resident, and I trade US stocks. I don't have a series 7 license yet, so I may not fill your definition of a "professional". Since I am trading for my personal account, and not "engaged in US trade or business", I do not pay any US Capital Gains Taxes. I just pay Australian capital gains taxes.

However, since you are in a US LLC this will probably be different for you.

As for mark-to-market, I can't help you there - that part of your question would be best answered by someone who actually files their 1040 with the IRS :)

By the way - what country are you a citizen and resident of? Who is your broker? Are you trading with a professional firm like Bright or Echo?

3. chs245

chs245

That's what I'm afraid of indeed.

By the way - what country are you a citizen and resident of? Who is your broker? Are you trading with a professional firm like Bright or Echo?
    [/QUOTE]

I'm living in the Netherlands, trading with Bright.

Oliver

4. lescor

lescor