timing in taking profit in spread trade

Discussion in 'Options' started by Fish&Trade, Dec 8, 2008.

1. I have been trading simple call and put options for a few years and for the past year I ventured into bull and bear spreads. At present I have a bull call spread showing some profit. The call option leg I bought has some nice gain, however the call option leg that I sold ( at higher strike price ) also appreciate in value, making the unrealized gain of this spread trade quite small. My question is --- is it for spread trade our aim is to hold on to expiration for maximum gain or should I closed off the trade when there is profit. Actually I have one bad experience that the bull call spread expired without value when the stock come back down again during expiration month. Also in general is spread option trade not that appropriate in volatile market?

2. 1) The spread trade reduces risk and it also reduces profit potential.

2) When you trade (either to open the position, or to close it), DO NOT pay the offer and sell the bid. When you submit an order, submit it as a spread (or COMBO) order.

Try to get a price close to midway between the bid and offer. In other words if the spread is $2.00 bid and $3.30 offered, try to sell a bit below the midpoint of $2.65. Perhaps 5 to 15 cents below. That will leave more of the profit for you.

3) In general, holding through expiration is a BAD idea. At some point you will earn a profit that satisfies your needs. When that happens, it's time to enter an order to exit the trade. Again - not a market order, but a limit order. If you are in no hurry, try to collect an extra nickel or two. But don't be stubborn.

4) You must understand that there is no 'rule' that fits every trader. Your individual comfort zone is what matters. At some point, the risk of holding outweighs the thoughts of earning additional profits.