Time to turn in my claws?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Nicodemus, Oct 12, 2001.

1. I have made money for so long shorting the naz that when this thing turns up I'm going to be in trouble for awhile. I dont know how to play an uptrending market. I am pretty good at calling tops but I'm not so good at calling bottoms so I don't make many long trades. Needless to say, I haven't made much money these last few days. I did ok today with my standard midmorning short of the Q's but gave half of it back for failing to recognize the late rally. The fact that it fought its way back on Friday afternoon makes me think I better start rethinking my strategies.

2. Nic

Might I suggest finding Harris or HKuppy on Yahoo and watching him do his bottom fishing technique. He has a chatroom there. Run searches here on elitetrader.com for Great New Pattern, Harris is Pretorian2 here.

Rtharp

3. roger2

roger2

I feel much the same...I started trading just before the bubble bust so almost all of my experience is with a downtrending market.

I can spot a lame duck, but become quite dazed and confused by stocks that keep going up...

4. I have been fading rallies for so long.....what the hell is a rally without at least a 38% retracement.!? This 'rally then base then breakout then base then breakout again' stuff is tough for me to trade. But it seems I remember doing it well once upon a time so we must all have adapted at one point. However a few days does not a change in market conditions make IMO. So it may be difficult for awhile, for me anyway. Just frustrating to here everyone talking about the great trading conditions and losing $$ or closing scratch every day these past few sessions.

5. sasha1

sasha1