Time to buy Real Estate?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by jem, Apr 13, 2012.

1. jem

jem

I am hesitant to talk my book because I never liked doing that with futures or equities until I sold half at a profit... but...

I bought my first property today since getting smoked for a lot of money in Florida 5-7 years ago. I was planning to trade more actively but I just did not see risk reward.

My theory is, interest rates should stay low and the market should stay hot for the next few months. I have about a 60 day hold on this. I think I can get a conservative 20 percent return after expenses. I am buying an REO right from the bank's portfolio... we inspected it and we will spend 20 grand on updating.

Background I am a broker I have about 35 other listings mostly short sales... many properties are getting multiple offers and I have potential buyer's in may database.

If this works and there are still REOS in two months, I will try and do it again once or twice before say Sept or Oct. My 3rd target may be for a rental investment.

I was not stoked about funding on friday the 13th but I was born on friday the 13th.

I will update when the property records early next week.

2. "As many as 1.25 million of America’s least cared for homes are headed for auction after a year-long probe into foreclosure practices kept them off the market."

You think this will keep prices down longer?

I've been waiting and waiting to buy a rental property , thinking I'll wait till this winter.

3. ptrjon

ptrjon

this summer could bring a lot of home sales, but it's tough to say. Since 2008, families have not been branching out and many twenty-somethings have stayed away from buying- when this changes, we will see home prices go up. But it could happen this summer or it could be in 4 years.

Either way, people who are buying now will pay low mortgage payments and they'll do better than buyers in 2005.

4. NO.

Ah, let me put it another way.

Definitely NOT.

How about this...