tick experiment to end.

Discussion in 'Trading' started by zdreg, Apr 20, 2018.

program will end in october?

1. yes

3 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. no

1 vote(s)
    16.7%
  3. no. wall street firms will not allow it to end.

3 vote(s)
    50.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. zdreg

zdreg

2. R1234

R1234

Glad to see that crap go. When I trade many of these small caps I am only able to execute in 5 cent increments but there is trading quoted and happening in fractions of a cent!

3. zdreg

zdreg

don't you mean to 3 or 4 decimal places? where do you see quotes (not executions) in between on stocks trading in 5 cent increments.

Last edited: Apr 20, 2018
    Clubber Lang likes this.
  4. R1234

R1234

the quote fluctuates to the 4th decimal place but I can only transact in $0.05 increments.

5. Zdreg is correct
    You mean Executions not Quotes

6. Read the link, I am no expert but program just sounded silly. Let the market work out the bid ask spread.

7. zdreg

zdreg

a free market does not mean no rules. while i consider this program as a power grab by old line firms and detrimental to the public , it was worthwhile as a short term experiment. fortunately for retail traders it looks like it is coming to an end
    unfortunately,Wall Street nearly always looks to screw the public and to create special privileges/exemptions for themselves. . market making firms will fight tooth and nail to keep this experiment alive and to expand it in some form if possible.
    I will believe it is finished when the experiment is officially over.. as yogi berra: "once said it ain't over till it is over."