Throwing in the towel

Discussion in 'Trading' started by proptr8r, Feb 24, 2003.

1. proptr8r

proptr8r

I've been trading as a career for the last eight years. I've done well for myself and have had an absolutely amazing time learning and implementing various strategies. However, during the last year, trading has become way too inconsistent of a way to make money, at least for me. I thought I would be able to weather the storm, but this is more like a never ending hurracaine. I've actually managed to stay profitable, but making $40k a year isn't cutting it. Maybe I'll be back during more favorable conditions, but (I never thought or hoped I'd be saying this), it's time to throw in the towel and look for greener pastuers.

Good luck to all the remaining traders out there!

2. Were you trading prop or retail? What are you gonna do , another business? 40 K is decent money , that's why you want to quit? It sucks to go back to a real job after trading.

3. proptr8r

proptr8r

I was trading prop.

A relative is bringing me in as an assistant. The job pays a high salary + bonus incentives. I'm sure I can speak for many here that I didn't get into trading to make $40k a year. Yes, that is decent money, but most of the people in this business are extremely ambitious and are looking for much more. I'm willing to give up some of my independence for more security and stability. 9-5's going to suck, but I really don't see a better alternative.

At least I don't think I'll ever say to myself that I didn't give it my all.

4. qdz2

qdz2

No offense, got stuff for sale? Thanks.

Good luck.

:p

5. brook89

brook89

I also know someone who was trading prop succesfully for 6 years who gave up just recently.

He said things are so bad that very few people at the firm was making money. In fact the firm had to give up one of its trading
    floors due to many trades leaving.

6. What and how were you trading?

7. proptr8r

proptr8r