Thoughts on Self Learning Financial Reports/Statements Analysis for Signs/Symptoms/Red Flags?

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by NightOwl, Dec 6, 2016.

1. NightOwl

NightOwl

Hi guys,

The subject didn't allow me to type too long.

Basically I'm new to stock trading, and I was told that without attending a course, i would not be able to get the glimpse into financial reports to get hints and symptoms, or red flags on the stock I'm interested in, whether it's a good buy or not, and whether it has growth potential.

Or any red flags to stop you from considering buying in their shares. I was told that those figures that are used to calculate the ratios are very common and seen everyone on the internet via Google, but those essence on analysing the Financial reports (and/or other statements) would not be available online, it would be kept secret and only taught throughout the paid courses.

What are your views on these?

Thanks.

Regards,
    Jenson

2. xandman

xandman

Several years of financial statements and ratios are available at www.morningstar.com.

Read Security Analysis by Benjamin Graham. I believe he recommends a basic accounting course as a prerequisite, not sure.

There are so many red flags. Whether it is actionable to trade is another thing.

NightOwl likes this.
  3. vanzandt

vanzandt

Nightowl, I don't think you necessarily need to take an accounting class.
    The best thing to do, imo, is read the quarterly financial statements, and go line by line using Investopedia as a reference for each accounting term. They do a good job of explaining things(accounting terms) in plain English. Thats what I did(do) at least.
    And listen to conference calls too. They supply a vast amount of info and they are always on a company's website under "investors".

Good luck with your journey.

NightOwl likes this.
  4. NightOwl

NightOwl

Hi xandman,