Thoughts on scaling up

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by superchargedv8, Apr 4, 2020.

1. So I recently started trading with a much larger position and am skeptical as to what might be going on causing me to take extra losses. I trade intraday and follow momentum whichever direction that might be.Im currently with TD Ameritrade and am possibly going to be moving to another broker (currently looking and comparing). Recently I've noticed more and more that if I take a position on lets say "SPY" as soon as I place my order it almost immediately starts going against me; so my question is this, is it because of my position sizing, my broker, mm, or do I just have to change strategy to trade with a much larger position?

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. fan27

fan27

You likely do not have a strategy with a positive expectancy as none of the things you mention are relevant.

3. The strategy i think is fine working with smaller size afterall i did manage to cross the PTD barrier coming from 2k. Once i went on margin and started to scale up it seems to not work so im just trying to make sense of it and adjust.

4. dozu888

dozu888

you are choking.

murray t turtle likes this.
  5. Sekiyo

Sekiyo

So I recently started lifting with a much heavier weight and am skeptical as to what might be going on causing me to take extra fat. I lift by night and follow the moon whichever cycle that might be.Im currently with FitJoe and am possibly going to be moving to another place (currently looking and comparing). Recently I've noticed more and more that if I take a stance on lets say "Sumo deadlift" as soon as I place my hands it almost immediately starts itching me; so my question is this, is it of my leg size, my gym, coach, or do I just have to change strategy to lift with a much heavier weight?

Last edited: Apr 4, 2020
    Specterx, FrankInLa and KCalhoun like this.
  6. KCalhoun

KCalhoun

Lol and brilliantly written