thoughts on harmonic patterns?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by spectastic, Jul 8, 2021.

1. spectastic

spectastic

I've tried to follow Scott Carney's material, and understand the basics, but never really fully committed to studying it. Sometimes, when I see an M or a W, I'll draw some fib levels just to see potential reactions, as a nice to see kind of thing, nothing that would really influence trading decisions. as a developing trader, I don't know if it's really a good use of time to spend a significant amount of time studying it when there are other working strategies that are simpler and less reliant on proprietary software. Also, Scott uses the harmonic framework to make some pretty bold predictions, like oil to 100, bitcoin to 10k (in 2021), and crazy prices on the meme wsb stocks. I mean I base trades off of technicals and even i understand technicals aren't predictive in nature. but I also know some well known traders who use harmonic patterns and are friends with Scott. So I'm kind of confused. On one hand, this guy has a lot of credibility and history as a trader. Otoh, a lot of his methodology seems like snake oil. Curious to get other thoughts

2. MKTrader

MKTrader

Based on what? I've never seen a track record for Carney or any of the other harmonic/Gartley/butterfly/grasshopper/flying saucer "traders." It seems more like a cool, mysterious thing to teach other traders who think esoteric patterns actually have an edge.

maxinger likes this.
  3. maxinger

maxinger

Those harmonics/Gartley/butterfly/grasshopper/ flying saucer/triangles .... things
    and also other radiant lines/curves/semicircles/channels/parallel lines

help to make the chart more beautiful and more impressive.

It wouldn't help you to earn $$$$.

jessiecarlson, VPhantom and MKTrader like this.
  4. MKTrader

MKTrader

5. spectastic

spectastic