This is how I am researching to pick a Forex Broker

Discussion in 'Forex Brokers' started by whirl, Dec 24, 2005.

1. whirl

whirl

Since I am a novice in the Forex World, any input/suggestion, feedback is well appreciated. Hopefully we can all work together to find someone that benefits us all.

1. Read all the forums and posts and see what kind of feedback certain places have. The ones that generally have negative comments, I will not consider.

2. Only if a broker has positive feedback, will I start to do a little research on them.

3. Cost of Trading: Low spreads/or commission. I understand during more volatile times, the spreads can increase. What I'm asking for is for "regular" or quiet times for the lowest spread. A good benchmark I am using is EUR/USD spread of 2 pips. I mean if the market isn't moving why pay 50% more (one extra pip)when you don't have to? Over the course of daytrading the month can be serious difference. Also factored in, I don't mind paying commission IF the overall cost is cheaper than a bigger spread.

4. I NEED trailing stops. I mean as much as I would LOVE to sit at the computer all day, if a position is going in my favor, why put a regular stop when I can put a trailing stop and go to sleep and make even more money? Worst comes to worse, it'll act like a regular stop. Now this isnt for scalping obviously since I can put this and willing to hold for hours/days as long as it's in my favor.

5. (optional) Since I'm a novice, I'd like some type of guide to help me know when I should/shouldn't trade. Like big news events about to come out. Some type of ecnomic calander/ Real Time news would be nice. I mean this is optional I guess, but nice. Are there any good websites that can take the place of this?

Ok, after taking out all the negative reviews I narrowed it down.

Oanda - seems to get a lot of favorable reviews, tight spreads. Software is pretty much no frills, but the big problem is NO trailing stops. oh well