This is for the long term traders

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by nyxtrader, Dec 8, 2007.

1. So 9 years as a trader as taken its toll on me. As far earnings as a prop trader, I think I am in the top 1%. But I find myself starting to feel burned out! I am sure I am not the only one to feel this way.

So my question is, what can I do to make this feeling go away?

I live and breath this market and I think it has taken over my life.

2. MGJ

MGJ

1. Figure out an annual income that will allow you to "live comfortably" according to your own needs and wants and requirements
    2. Multiply that by 50.
    3. Keep trading until you have accumulated savings equal to step 2.
    4. Use the savings to purchase Treasury Inflation Protection Securities "TIPS"
    5. Quit trading. You never need to trade again. You can live comfortably the rest of your life on the interest payments AND you're protected against inflation AND your heirs get the principal when you croak. You don't NEED to trade.
    6. Wait 12 or 24 or 36 months. See whether you WANT to resume trading. If so, trade. If not, enjoy your retirement.

3. Consider mentoring newbies or traders having a tough time.

Depending upon your personality, you make take pleasure in seeing others thrive because of your guidance or "getting it right" after struggling because of your advice and experience.

Just a thought.

4. Take several weeks of vacation. The market can survive without you during this time of the year. (TIPS won't protect you from deflation.)

5. open

open

I am not calling you a liar but from my perspective I love trading, it is easy for me and it should be for you

but I do in fact take it easy, sometimes placing only one trade per day

so maybe stop being so ACTIVE

6. Take lots of leisure time. If you are really successful, you don't need to work all day. Think about what's more important for you than money. What do you really need besides the markets?

7. perr

perr

hey nyxtrader