Thirsty's options

Discussion in 'Options' started by thirst, Mar 15, 2006.

1. thirst

thirst

So I had been just posting my trade on mutioption's thread. I figure I'd start my own.

Most recently, i closed out a itm call option on SUNW. Given the strength of today's rally, I bought QQQQ April 39 calls for 2.9. Stop at 1.8, target 4.4.

2. gkishot

gkishot

How many contracts?

3. thirst

thirst

I plan to allocate 50% of my option trading account into this trade. I have bought 1/4 of the position I am looking to own. I am hoping for weakness to pick up the rest. So 12.5% of my option portfolio.

I think the number of contracts is irrelevant, more so, how much of my portfolio am I risking here. I am risking, currently, about 4% of my options portfolio. I also trade futures and stocks.

4. This thread is making me thirsty.

5. thirst

thirst

Water does a body good. I am new to this, so feel free to offer any thought you may have.

Thanks

6. novel20

novel20

I guess people want to know how big your portfolio is. If you are just trading 1 contract, probably not many people will be interested.

7. ra1

ra1

Mr thirst, could you please expand a little on your money management - I thought you said you were allocating 50% of your option trading capital on this one trade and you've already achieved a quarter of the allocation? Did I get this right? If so then isn't that rather risky?
    ra1

P.S. I just realised that it isn't very risky if your option trading capital is only $1000. So, you would risk $500. Right? I'd be interested to see how it pans out.
    All the best.

8. thirst

thirst