[Thinkorswim] What will happen to the options if left unexercised until maturity

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by vivaskyliska, Apr 14, 2018.

1. Hello everybody,

I am new to trading options with Thinkorswim.

May i know what will happen to the options (of the following scenario) if i hold them unexercised until maturity:
    a.) In the money option
    b.) At the money option
    c) Out of the money option

Thank you.

2. Any option in the money by over a penny will be automatically exercised at expiration. -- or automatically closed for the profit if you don't have the funds in your account to buy the shares.

This is a very basic question...you should have already done your homework.

3. thanks for the respond.

Actually i wanted to ask if they are cash-settled OR stock-settled.
    But i thought leaving the question in more general manner would fetch more elaborated answers.

On Friday last week, my call option was in the money and i purposely left it unexercised to see how it would turn out.
    So, it turned out to be that the option was automatically converted to stock instead of settling in cash. (as shown in the attached screenshot)
    Hence my earlier question. How about the out of money options? What will happen to them?
    upload_2018-4-15_12-11-7.png

Thanks again.

4. JSOP

JSOP

For a) In the money options, I believe the OCC will automatically exercise it for you as long as it is 1 cent in the money UNLESS you specifically advise your broker that you do NOT want to exercise.

b) For At the money option, nothing happens. It will just expire unexercised upon maturity.

c) Same thing as b) above.

5. zdreg

zdreg

exactly when and how is it closed automatically for lack of funds?

6. Thanks!
    I guess the treatment would be different from one broker to another?