Thinking of starting prop in Toronto

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by ptrade, Mar 5, 2004.

1. ptrade

ptrade

I live in Toronto, and am thinking of taking a month or two to explore prop trading, if possible. I have some retail experience swing trading, which I haven't done in a while, but I did OK at it a few years ago.

I have some questions, for those that are good enough to answer:

1. Where is the best place to start? (I don't have any capital to put up at the moment, so Swifttrade sounds like the only place to go from what I can tell.)

2. What is required in terms of certification, etc? Do I need a Series 7 to trade at Toronto Swifttrade, for example? Also, my credit rating isn't the best at the moment, and I'm wondering if that will have any effect on my eligibility to get hired.

3. How much will it cost me for training at these firms, etc, and how long will that take?

I don't have much to lose at the moment (other than a bit of my time), so it's pretty much a risk-free proposition for me to try this out and see if I like it.

Any responses are appreciated.

2. mdmbud

mdmbud

maybe you should not do it at all

3. ptrade

ptrade

Why not? If it doesn't cost me much (if anything), wouldn't it be worth a try?

4. mdmbud

mdmbud

sorry, what was I thinking. Your plan of action sounds like a good one!

5. ptrade

ptrade

Thanks. If there are any more helpful responses out there (pro or con), they would be appreciated.

6. prop is a complete waste of time ... learn to become a real trader ... read Reminiscenes of a Stock Operator ... read Seykota material ... www.tradingtribe.com

7. BENG

BENG

Re: Quote from ptrade:

1. Where is the best place to start? (I don't have any capital to put up at the moment, so Swifttrade sounds like the only place to go from what I can tell.)

SwiftTrade.